Nominate Your Favorite AdLaw Article/Book, Student Note & Agency Official for Annual ABA AdLaw Section Awards

by Chris Walker — Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2017@chris_j_walker

Here’s the nomination information for each of these three awesome administrative law awards from the ABA Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice. From the call for nominations:

Nominations for 2017 are open! Visit the Awards page on our website to learn more about requirements and submitting nominations.


Award for Scholarship in Administrative Law

Each year, the ABA Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice recognizes the best work of administrative law scholarship for the prior year. Eligible books and articles are those that were published (copyrighted) during 2016.

PDF Instructions


Mary C. Lawton Award for Outstanding Government Service

Created in 1989, the Mary C. Lawton Award for Outstanding Government Service honors the memory of Mary Lawton, a distinguished career government lawyer who served on the Council of the Administrative Law Section from 1983-1986, and as Chair of the Section’s Judicial Review Committee from 1986 to 1988.

PDF Instructions


Gellhorn-Sargentich Law Student Essay Competition

Created in 2006, the Gellhorn-Sargentich Law Student Essay Award Competition honors the memory of two men who left us too soon, Ernest Gellhorn, a distinguished law dean, administrative law professor, and practitioner who was Chair of the American Bar Association Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice; and Thomas Sargentich, a distinguished administrative law professor at American University’s Washington College of Law who was a great friend of the Section.

The goal of the competition is to encourage law students to become involved in the Section, attract students to the administrative law practice fields, and to encourage scholarship in these fields. The entry must discuss any topic relating to administrative law.

PDF Instructions

Cite As: Author Name, Title, 36 Yale J. on Reg.: Notice & Comment (date), URL.

This entry was tagged .

About Chris Walker

Christopher Walker is a law professor at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law. Prior to joining the law faculty, Professor Walker clerked for Justice Anthony Kennedy of the U.S. Supreme Court and worked on the Civil Appellate Staff at the U.S. Department of Justice. His publications have appeared in the California Law Review, Michigan Law Review, Stanford Law Review, and University of Pennsylvania Law Review, among others. Outside the law school, he serves as one of forty Public Members of the Administrative Conference of the United States and as Vice-Chair of the American Bar Association’s Section on Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice. He blogs regularly at the Yale Journal on Regulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *